Advertisement

Environmental Studies: B.A. vs. B.S.

topic posted Tue, September 26, 2006 - 4:15 PM by  Claire
Share/Save/Bookmark
Heya everyone. I had a question for all you college grads out there: I'm trying to decide between a B.A. and a B.S. in Environmental Studies. It seems one curriculum (B.S.) has mostly Calculus, Physics, and Chemistry classes, whereas the other (B.A.) has more broad science-ish classes (think Quantum Reasoning) and Economics. What do you think? Would a B.A. suffice for a building contractor? The curriculum seems much more interesting for the B.A. than the B.S. Is there a substantial monetary difference?

Eager to know your thoughts and opinions,

Xavana
posted by:
Claire
San Diego
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

If it's anything like other majors that offer both, I suspect it won't matter a damn bit except for your first job. I was lucky enough to have the choice in (of all things) Computer Science. It didn't matter that I took the BA by the time I graduated because I had interesting experience under my belt, which was the driving factor in my first post graduation job. My advice would be to take the study path you're the most passionate about, and fill in the blanks where you care to.

Disclaimer: I don't know what the ES graduate to jobs ratio is, but if you're at the top of the class, it shouldn't matter.
    • The B.S. always looks better than a B.A. I say you should go for the B.S.
      • I'm surprised it's offered as a B.A., since Environmental Studies relies heavily on the natural sciences.

And unfair as it is, I believe that Kelly is right about a B.S. "looking better". OTOH Paul's right, too. Choose your internships well (in terms of skill setes gained) and the first job will come more easily.

The best answer probably comes from knowing just what kind of work you'd like to pursue when you get out of school. Talk to people who already have the job you want.

Good luck! Follow your bliss.